Lisa:
Just a quick note to let everyone know that I made it Costa Rica safely. My bag made it as well, which is a rarity given my track record with delayed flights and losing luggage. I think this was the first time I’ve ever flown with my departure city and arrival city having the same name.

imageLeaving the US was hectic. I worked 8 12-hour shifts in my final week and a half in California. I also found time to move out of my apartment and cram all my belongings into storage. I’m very thankful for all the amazing team of friends that stepped up to lift boxes and furniture while keeping me sane. Many people asked me if I was excited about my trip but I could hardly think about traveling because of the mountain of things I needed to accomplish before I left. I knew the excitement wouldn’t really sink in until I was on the plane.
imageI boarded the plane in San Jose, CA and sat next to an 87 year old gentleman named Chuck all the way to Dallas. He was born in NYC but hadn’t been back since the mid 1940s. Now he was headed, on a solo trip, to take Manhattan by storm and see what had changed. We talked for almost 3 hours as he told me stories from his life. He met his wife when she was 15 and they petitioned a judge to let them get married, he fought in World War Two, he has lived all over the world, and now has kids, grandkids, and great grandkids scattered around the country. Stories of falling in love and losing his wife to cancer. As I listened to the stories that have made up his life I realized that these are the reasons I’m excited to travel, not only to hear the amazing stories of people’s lives that we will meet on the way, but also to build my own story of experiences that I can share when I’m 87.

